We welcome any query on Who When Where. If you have previously posted it on another forum (including the old WDYTYA forum), please state this in your opening post - this will save people redoing the research which has been done before: they can look at it and possibly go further with it.

Enlistment Query

Post your queries about your military ancestors, or help fellow researchers find out about theirs.
Hardwork

Enlistment Query

Post by Hardwork »

I wonder if any military buffs can advise on the following, as I have no great experience of tracking WWI family history.

Is the following possible or likely? James Frederick WRIGHT was killed on the Western Front in 1916. He was in the 32nd battalion (East Ham) of the Royal Fusiliers and was born c1890 in Hackney. In the 1911 census I have been unable to trace him and thought he may have already have been in the army at that stage. The only man that I can find that fits the bill is a James WRIGHT born in Hackney c1890 serving in India in the Middlesex Regiment.

Question: Is it possible/probable that James enlisted , say aged 17 or 18 in the Middlesex Regiment, served his time, and came out of the army but rejoined or was reserved to be called up when hostilities began in 1914 and was recruited into the Royal Fusiliers? Is it more likely that the two men are likely to be entirely different people? I've been unable to find any service record for him on FMP or Ancestry so it may have been in the "Burnt Records".
Norfolk Nan

Re: Enlistment Query

Post by Norfolk Nan »